Skip to content

MPP – 14

January 7, 2014

In exploring the theme of being trapped, from my poem, I began looking at games and puzzles that relate to this.
I came across Japanese puzzle boxes. These are intricately decorated and intricately constructed boxes, that will only open when the correct turns and slides are made.

I found a great website that provides templates of some Japanese puzzle boxes that I will download. I might be able to combine some of these ideas of a structure that traps its contents with the book I will make for my final piece.I also looked at the Hedgehog-in-a-Cage puzzle, from Czechoslovakia, that consists of a spiky ball (the hedgehog) inside a cylindrical ‘cage’. Only by twisting and pulling in the correct way will the hedgehog be freed. This, again, suggests great ideas for the final form of my project. Plus, the spiky metal structure has a steampunk look that I think goes well with the visuals I am imagining for this piece.

Hedgehog-in-a-Cage Puzzle

Hedgehog-in-a-Cage Puzzle

Japanese Puzzle Box

Japanese Puzzle Box

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment