Skip to content

MPP – 15

January 7, 2014

One of the overriding themes that came out of my deconstruction of the poem was shadows. I did lots of research into shadow play – the history, the materials, modern interpretations. I came across loads of really inspirational imagery and information, but one in particular really got me excited. It was a music video for a musician called Lior created by a group called Stories From the Underground. This had exactly the look I wanted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4Ufb1D-vyY

I think there is loads to explore with shadow play – the colours, the effects, the materials – all of which will tie in with what I am trying to achieve. My next step will be to make a miniature shadow puppet theatre to play around with. Below is a still from one of Stories From the Underground’s shadow puppet shows.

Stories From the Underground puppet show

Stories From the Underground puppet show

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment